• Most Recent Stuff

  • Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Email Updates and Stuff

  • Archive

  • Posts, by month

  • What You Said!

    extremelisteningmode on Our new least favourite band…
    Sam on Our new least favourite band…
    Welsh band lover on The worst band ever! – N…
    extremelisteningmode on The worst band ever! – N…
    Welsh band lover on The worst band ever! – N…

The Friday 5 – Songs you really shouldn’t like but do

MikaSomething’s happening, happening to me. My friends say I’m acting peculiarly.

Everybody likes one rubbish song in the summer. It’s allowed. Normally, you can just blame the sun and move on. But we haven’t actually had any this year. It’s alternated between showers and rain. So there must be more to it. I’m going to have to just hold my hands up and take what’s coming to me. Okay, here goes; I quite like Mika’s (pictured) new single. Yes, it’s preposterous, slightly irritating and features Mika, but there you go. I find myself singing along and actually enjoying it. What the hell, I’m getting older every day. Might as well enjoy the ride.

By the way, I’ve heard he’s gay. No, really.

To make myself feel a bit better, I’ve compiled some classics of the ‘why do I like that again?’ genre. Sean Rowley made a fortune calling these ‘Guilty Pleasures’ but, in all honesty, I don’t see any reason for anybody to feel bad about loving these songs. They are classics. And they act as ballast against every tuneless, dreary band full of self-importance whose album we dutifully buy and never listen to. Feel no shame, brothers and sisters.

Buggles – Video Killed the Radio Star

Trevor Horn may be a scary little toad, but this is some tune. It’s bright and shiny and multicoloured and fabulous. It’s as close to a toy as a song can be. Still, 30 years later, nothing else sounds like it. And it deserves credit for the bass outro, eschewing the more traditional guitar widdle.

Toni Basil – Hey Mickey

Nobody who was alive in the 80’s doesn’t remember this and the video. Be honest, you have a vision of a cheerleader dressed in red, white and blue in your mind simply by reading the title, don’t you? This song is genuinely iconic, and on top of that it’s absolutely brilliant.

Cyndi Lauper – Girls Just Wanna Have Fun

Oh, come on! If you don’t like this, you have no soul. Fact.

Belinda Carlisle – Heaven is a Place on Earth

Former Go-Go’s solo debut is a piece of big-haired, shoulder pad-clad pop wondrousness. A staple of every commercial radio station from now to eternity, it’s just three minutes of sheer joy. And, to boys of a certain generation, the divine Ms Carlisle would still catch it.

Avril Lavigne – Girlfriend

She may be an irritating little cow backstage, by all accounts, but this is a belter. One of these pieces of manufactured pop so brilliant you can only assume a machine created it. A bit like Avril herself, really, she looks like an IBM version of a skateboard kid. Well, she did. She’s gone all glam now.

Enjoy the weekend, people, feel free to share your shameful song secrets before you leave though….

15 Responses

  1. The New Radicals -” Dont Give Up “, I love(d) that song even though with some minor tweaking it became a hit for……eh , that irish guy from the boy band who then went solo and then started/managed his own boy band ………….ronan keating (?)

  2. Like most of those apart from fucking Mika. My girlfriend likes him. I want to throw him in an acid bath.
    I do however, quite like a lot of Madonna songs, apart from Vogue, which is too homosexualistic.
    “Teardrops” by Womack and Womack always gets the pointy boots dancing in my house, or Anarchy Towers as it’s known. Well, to me anyway.
    Oh, and everything by ABC too.
    On a slight tangent, I saw The Human League at the Wickerman. Thought to meself “I know a couple of their hits”. Well, blow me, didn’t I know about 18 of the 20 songs they did and they were superb. All together now “Johnny, Joey, Dee Dee, Good Times!!!”

  3. Anything by Japan
    Early Simple Minds
    Prince

  4. This whole thread has missed out on hair rock classics, such as ‘Here I Go Again’ by Whitetrash, and ‘Rock & Roll All Night’ from rock’s favourite franchise, Kiss.

    Tsk, tsk.

  5. Well, we are somewhat bound by the restrictions put in place by a feature called ‘The Friday 5’.

  6. Tom Joad

    All of the classics mentioned are classics and not even slightly shameful.

  7. I’d have to concur.

  8. I like the new florence and the machine single. there, I said it. Now I’m away for a bath.

  9. Mika….Florence and the PR Machine…what is happening to us GGM?!

  10. I have quite a few skeletons in this particular cupboard , but , having mulled it over I think my particular No. 1 – with a bullet – in this category is …..and , taking into account that…….
    ………………even though Id like to drop the monoliths of Stonehenge on the band members skulls , even though I d like to see their singer die a cold , painful and lingering death in a bizzare trout farming accident , even though I d bring back Himmler for one last gig to oversee the burning of their entire back catalogue and even though I d happily lie under oath to frame each and every one of their fans on outlandish terrorist-paedophile-beastiality charges………….

    I cant help loving ” followyou , follow me ” by genisis

  11. fuckin hell…………….Genesis? You’re a punk war traitor!

  12. I quite like Solsbury Hill by peter gabriel too , top tune ,

    Pa -pa -papah , climbing up on solsbury hill
    Pa- pa -papah , I could see those city lights….

    and Mr Blue Sky by ELO `s got more power in it than anything the uk subs or the lurkers or sham 69 ever came up with !!!!

  13. Genesis – have a bath! And a beating!

    Solsbury Hill is acceptable, though.

  14. oh good God……….

  15. Solsbury Hill is a toon, man!

Leave a Reply

