• Most Recent Stuff

  • Twitter

    • Tickets bought to see @LukeHaines_News in Glasgow on May 13. No idea how he was persuaded to venture up North but bloody delighted. 5 months ago
  • Email Updates and Stuff

  • Archive

  • Posts, by month

  • What You Said!

    extremelisteningmode on Our new least favourite band…
    Sam on Our new least favourite band…
    Welsh band lover on The worst band ever! – N…
    extremelisteningmode on The worst band ever! – N…
    Welsh band lover on The worst band ever! – N…

When You Just Can’t Get It

Glasvegas. Dunno if you have heard them yet, but you will. They have a Mary Chainish-musical style, low fuzzing guitars and big drums, Spectoresque production. The usual. They deal in emotional, overwrought lyrics, a bit of a cut above most stuff that the NME rave about. They look quite cool. They also sing in Glaswegian accents, a brave and rarely taken step.

And I fucking hate them, and I mean really, really hate them. They make me want to cut the top of my skull off with a sharpened 50p piece and whisk my brain until it has achieved a nice consistency, then bake it. I don’t know why. They tick all my boxes. It’s an early stage in their career, certainly early enough that I could claim not to like them after their difficult second album. Why don’t I like them?!

This is where music’s inescapable subjectivity comes to the fore. You can pretend to like something, you can believe you really do, but if you don’t, you don’t. Cards on the table – I think ‘Nude’ by Radiohead is shite. I’m sorry, I wish I didn’t, but I do. I have yet to find a reason to not despise the Klaxons. Rufus Wainwright annoys me more than I thought possible from someone not an EastEnders cast member. But I wish it were not so, dear reader, but you can’t get away from who you are.

Maybe it’s an age thing, getting older brings more confidence. That said, if I ever hear a Kooks song and think ‘that’s magic!’ you have permission to shoot me.

5 Responses

  1. Yes!!! I hate these glasvegas tossers too! saw them on Later…the other night and thought…”The Marychain, but uglier”.
    I’ve been following Alan McGhees comments on myspace, you know the usual McGhee rhetoric, “best band in the UK”, “neds from Glasgow with killer tunes” etc etc…..you know how McGhee, always gets a bit excited. Sorry Alan. They Suck. Worse than a toothless crack whore. And what is the singers hair all about?? Yer going bald mate, accept it.
    And the girl drummer…..with a floor tom and a snare….oh, very original.

  2. Alan mcGhee loved the Gyres. I need say no more 🙂

  3. I love Glasvegas so needless to say I disagree, but everyone is entitled to an opinion!

  4. Absolutely nothing to say about this,just wanted to fill every slot in the “what you said” column on the home page for a while.

    Sorry for wasting everyones time.

  5. I like that Jayhawker, it’s good for a man to have ambitions!

Leave a Reply

